Rude Staff

reginadpruitt

We all experience the hospital from time to time and the staff gets to know us pretty well. I also know that these same staff members encounter some nasty attitudes and some whining. However, we are not ALL that we, as CF patients. I am currently in the hospital and have had several incidences of various staff members being rude and having very short/curt responses--from nursing staff to housekeeping to dietary. I know their jobs can be very demanding (I'm a Physician Assistant so I'm very acclimated to the "other side" of the coin), but at least they have a job and at least THEY are not a patient.
When you don't feel good and you're struggling to just do activities of daily living, a rude person can really negatively impact you. Well, they can negatively impact me, anyway. Speaking for myself, I find that I am more emotionallly sensitive when I'm in the hospital. I guess it is b/c of several things: I feel crappy (obviously); the reality of my disease is in my face; I feel lonely at times; I'm unable to work and thus feel like I'm not contributing to my work, my patients, or my family; the reality of not just my disease but its progression is in my face. I always bounce back and my crying sessions are usually short-lived, but it only took one rude person to get that avalanche started.
Does anyone else experience this emotional swing when they are in-patient? I do this from time to time when I'm just doing IV abx treatment at home, but it seems to be worse when I'm in house. Also, the older I get, the worse it seems to get. I guess I need to change my attitude and my thought processes. I should also change my expectations of other people. If I expect people to be rude, I won't feel so hurt and disapppointed when they ARE rude.