Jobs for people with CF?

J

Jason1981

Hi, I've been reading this forum for awhile, and decided to post . Anyway, I'm 32..never had any kind of job, live with my dad and step-mom. I tried college years ago, but didn't even know what I wanted to do (this was back when I was living with my mom in Louisiana, instead of in the Fairfield/Susiun area of California. )

So...I have no job experience, no vehicle (except a bicycle, and there are buses...but the buses don't run every day here. ) and if I were able to go back to college (or some kind of trade school, maybe?), I have no idea what kind of job/career would be good for someone with CF. Doesn't help that I'm also a bit shy around people at first.

I guess what I'm asking is, what kind of jobs are good for someone with CF? I'll probably edit this later to describe my situation better, I guess.

Living with CF really sucks.

Aboveallislove

Super Moderator
My suggestion would be some kind of office work. What'd I'd suggest is you look at the various job openings and figure out what interests you and what doesn't require a lot of training. It might be a customer service on the telephone or web work. Look at the job require,nets and then look at tech or community college programs that are cheep. You don't want to go into debt for this. And the. In the meantime find a part time gig in a related area so you have so e work experience and make some connections. Rather than monster.com etc. I'd search for the names of local employers and then go to their webpages and look at the job openings posted on their web.

jaimers

Super Moderator
I do phone based customer service in the corporate office of a large company. before that, i worked as a bank teller for 3.5 years and was a nanny for a year right out of college. during college i worked several retail jobs (clothing stores) and did a couple summer stints in fast food to fund my laying around on the beach for a summer ;)