Do you play an instrument?

LKBamberg

I've played banjo for a while. But I recently started playing trombone.

I have to say, the trombone REALLY helps with the lungs! String instruments are a lot of fun, but wind instruments will open your lungs, keep them clear, and give you a great incentive to do breathing exercises. I would say it's worth the investment, just go out and buy something and learn to play it!

What do you play? What do you want to?

Twistofchaos

Does a copper windinstrument offer constant resistance on the exhale? Kinda like a PEP mask then. :)
Do you play bluegrass on the banjo? Maybe on the trombone too? Must be great fun.

My main instrument is the piano. Classical pianolessons most of my childhood which I enjoyed a lot. Was also a thing where my parents probably felt they had to put me on something if not sports because of CF. As an introverted nerdy kid piano was right up my alley anyway. (..along with chess.)
In very difficult segments I tend to hold my breath so I need to consciously remind myself to keep breathing while playing.

During my teens I secretly turned into a metalhead though and living on my own in recent years I have a small home studio in the corner of my livingroom. (ie. electronic instruments and a laptop..) Where I make doom metal. Very slow, very long, heavy introverted music. Much like classical music but with guitars, drums etc. Instruments where I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing.

RockyLass