Trouble dosing creon help!

M

Marcusukcf

Hi everyone, im new to any cf forums but i need some advice on dosing my creon.

About 2 years ago i started going to the gym and increased the amount of food i eat to try put on some weight which i have done. But around a year into it my stools started going very pale and with tiny pieces of undigested food in. Iv tried increasing tablets decreasing them nothing helps. I havent passed a normal stool the whole time. My diet is fairly low fat but when i do have a high fat meal etc and increase creon this doesnt have any effect. The stools are not greasy, to be honest it looks like baby poo ( sorry ) lol.
My cf nurse has no idea what it is so im at a dead end, any one had this before or have any suggestions for me? Would be greatly appreciated! Thanks alot

Aboveallislove

Super Moderator
One thing that heled with our son was breaking meals up so highest dose he was allowed could handle the fat. Can you post the dosing you are on and amount of typical fat you take with that dosing? I'll see if I can find what I used to get a gauge on how much the enzyme could process in fat etc. might nt be until Monday but maybe someone else can help too. And to confirm it only started when you started eating more? Any floating stools? Any gi pain?

M

Marcusukcf

See thats the problem, obviously having cf we need more calories than the average person and im 94kg 6'3 so my calories are roughly 5000 per day to gain weight. So i cant really eat small meals else id be none stop eating.
Meals are usually pretty low fat
200g chicken 400g sweet potato and broccoli so id say less than 5g fat per meal for which id take 1 creon. Breakfast is the only high fat meal as i have peanut butter, eggs, oats and mill in a shake which has 45ish grams of fat so id take 9 with that. I go for roughly 1 creon 10k to 5g fat. No floating stools or pain. But alot of distension.

enniob

Administrator
Staff member