online dating and CF disclosure

erock77

So I've been playing the online dating game off and on for about 2 years now, on top of getting out in the world and meeting people. I was talking to a friend yesterday, telling him I get a little nervous when I feel the need to explain my coughing. With the online dates I tend to hold back a little and put on a good face. I generally like to be an open book, so I think sometimes I may come off like I'm hiding something. I'm usually lucky that I can hold in the gnarly coughs during a first date, but not always, and often I don't say anything and they may suspect I have a cold or something else contagious, who knows.

So my friend suggested I just disclose it in my profile, with a positive spin on how I deal with it. I've come to realize with all the R&D I see I'll probably live a lot longer than I ever expected. Most of my girlfriends I met in the real world, and most learned on the first about the CF or they already knew. I think in some ways it may have actually helped me seem more interesting, admirable, or whatever cliche people say about our "bravery" dealing with this disease while actually accompishing things in our lives. I also find I get along better with women who have dealt with some pain and dark times in their life, and hopefully gotten past it. These women might be attracted to the perspective that comes with some life struggle, I know I am. My friend thinks it may also attract women with a tendency for compassion and caretaking. So who knows, maybe it could help to disclose right away. I'm thinking maybe be a little vague, like "I was born with a chronic respiratory illness but I take care of myself really well and don't let it stop me from having a fun and productive life." It might also save me the nervousness of disclosing later and coming off like I'm hiding something. It sounds like I'm talking myself into it.