Working part time or less. What led you to decision?

erock77

So I've posted before about being re-evaluated for my long-term disability benefits. I enrolled 2 years ago to work part time. I'm an engineer, worked full time for most of 8 years. I noticed a correlation between long hours and feeling worse with a gnarlier cough by the end of the day. Especially if working 8+ hours a few days in a row. Obviously my symptoms can vary with prolonged stress levels. So I'm part-time now, supplementing with LTD insurance, I was lucky enough my company had this opportunity.

Anyway, in preparing for my review I'm trying to further convince myself why I should only work part time. I'm doing 2 full days per week, 3 if it's busy. Then my days off I exercise, eat better, take care of chores, have med visits, take naps, relax and be leisurely, etc. I may not have made this decision yet if the supplemental income option was available, but my doctor had recommended it years ago when she saw the impact on my health.
I'm wondering, what led others to their decision and how do you think it's helped vs working full time.

Thanks!

jaimers

Super Moderator