Gene confusion R117H/5T

cenow1982

My son was diagnosed at 6 years old and has the genetic combination R117H as one gene and 5T as the other. I'm very confused at what this all means. Can anyone clarify?

M

Meabtahi

I'm not a pro but my daughter has r117h so we did a lot of research on this mutation and have talked to ourncf clinic about it. From my understanding, r117h is a variable mutation depending on the t tract that it is in phase with. There are 3 different variants on the t tract - 5t/7t/9t with 9 being he best and basically normal functioning and 5 potentially leading to cf, however, a more mild case typically. Do you know what the t variant with your r117h is as your post makes it sound like 5t is on the opposite chromosome. We all have two sets of t variants so you need to know which is in phase with the r117h and what is on the other chromosome as well to help determine severity. Good news is from what I have read r117h is a more mild mutation regardless - however, it is likely to cause infertility in boys.

CFParent2

My son was diagnosed at 6 years old and has the genetic combination R117H as one gene and 5T as the other. I'm very confused at what this all means. Can anyone clarify?

He has 2 gene mutations to have CF. R117H is one of those mutations. 5T Allele is an additional designation associated with a gene mutation. For example if R117H was a name of a car like a Civic, 5T would be an additional designation like Hatchback or coupe. Usually they identify two gene mutations, but not always since some are not known. Check your records to see if his other mutation is known.