Search results

1. K

Study - PTSD in parents of CF'ers

I found this fascinating. If you've ever had one of those days when you can't shake the blues about CF, this study may shed some light on why. I'm not an expert on reading and analyzing these but it seemed pretty thorough. One of the study's authors has a child with CF. It was done on...
  2. K

variability in blood draw experience

I am looking for tips and stories about if/how you make a blood draw go better for your child from the lab and technician standpoint. It's not preparing and handling my daughter that I have questions about. We have a pretty good system. What I need help with is how to ask/tell the lab techs...
  3. K

Great Strides

For those of us without a blog, or even if you do have one, share your GS stories here. Our Great Strides was in OKC yesterday. The weather was absolutely beautiful! I MET Stacey (JORDYSMOM) and it was such a joy to visit with her. She is as lovely and caring in real life as she is on these...
  4. K

faking it - 7% HS

Well I've confirmed what I suspected for some time. We switched Katy to a mouthpiece to do Hypertonic Saline, which she calls the "scratchy nose" medicine, and she can't tolerate it very well at all now that she is actually breathing it in. She was clearly cheating it somehow when nebbing it...
  5. K

Learning curve for PFT's?

Katy did her first PFT yesterday. The results were disappointing to me (FEV1 78%), but the doc and nurse seemed happy and assured me that she would get better at doing the test. I'm bummed out because I've been cruising along in fantasy world that she "doesn't have any lung involvement". Ha...
  6. K

Asthma - questions about symptoms

Before her CF diagnosis, Katy was diagnosed with "seasonal asthma" by her pediatrician based on a cough that wouldn't go away. Her CF doc has not diagnosed her with asthma. The past 5 days or so, she has been doing a rapid breathing off and on. I can't tell if there is something wrong with...