colloidal Silver?

politicaljules

Hello All!

This is my first time posting, but I am desperately trying to find information about colloidal silver.

There is some talk bubbling up among my Cf community about nebulizing colloidal silver, so I wanted to get a feel for it from y'all. I've been trying to find research on the issue but all I can come up with is claims by the actual companies selling the product.

I will admit I am very skeptical, so this post will reflect my fear. Please know I am not trying to offend anyone or start an argument, but I would like to see some healthy debate on the issue. I think we can be adults and not get everyone's ire up. :) :) :)

It is not of the silver's antibiotic properties I have doubts about per se. Rather, it is the sterility of the product generated being aerosolized and inhaled into the lungs of a person with Cf that worries me.

Several members of one Cf group are really pushing the members to purchase a silver generator (which is fairly expensive btw.) But in order to generate the silver infusion the instructions include purchasing distilled water from those big gallon jugs to make the silver infusion.

It's always been drilled into my head that distilled water is not sterile. It is highly disinfected. The distillation removes the minerals tap water has, but it is not labeled or certified as sterile. Which means It does not have to be packaged for sterility like sterile water. I am assuming that would make the risk of contamination either on the shelf, or once it is brought home increase the longer it sits there.

Our clinic frowns against using distilled water to rinse Neb cups, for the same reason that it is not sterile.