do i need to switch jobs?

Everytime I get sick, i get closer to being considered to be put on the transplant list. every time i get sick i miss alot of days of work. i am a teacher so i know that there are plenty of subs to take my place. I am concern that when i get sicker, i can't work as much and therefore not be able to pay for things. I have a college degree in education and been teaching for the last 10 years. i just don't know if it is wise to do something else for work and be able to do some work while i am sick or while i am dealing with a future transplant.
right now, i am frustarted because the school i teach at is a mother day program and depends on enrollment. so some things have happened to where i had to combine classes. there really wasn't a place for me to teach and got stuck on the sub list. i don't get called as much and i have been getting sick. As i get sicker, i will miss more work and if i work as a secertary or even as a cashier, i fear i may be fired because i miss so much work. there could be no one to fill my spot. and i know i can get sick from kids because they pass on germs but i can get sick from other people becuase they have sick kids or don't know how to stay home because they are sick. and i can get sick from touching public things like doors, carts etc. so i figure i might as well teach. besides they have a list of subs to take over.
right now i just don't know if it is better to do teaching which i love and got an education for or start thinking about a different job. i have looked at other jobs and i have been noticing that people want to hire people with exeperience or have an education for that job.
i guess what i am asking is what job works best for people who are constantly sick like CFers and what you do for extra cash.

jchelle