Help please!!!

megan420

Im experiencing extreme sharp pains in one area of my chest and nothing is helping!!! Its worst when I cough. Im wondering if its a collapsed lung, never had one before. Please let me know if you have gone through one and what was your symptoms.

kevin9877

I don't have CF, I am a Respiratory Therapist. The only way to diagnose a collapsed lung is to have a doctor listen to your lung sounds and a chest x-ray to confirm. Try calling your doctor if you don't think its an emergency. Otherwise, you may want to visit an urgent care or emergency room if you really think you have a collapsed lung. My 2 cents.

LittleLab4CF

Super Moderator
A cough is so painful it literally splays your arms and body each time? Otherwise you can breathe without pain, or very little discomfort? Pleural effusion or an intra-pleural pocket of infection differs from pleurisy in that breathing isn't a pain with each breath, feeling like an adhesion. I often present hemoptysis along with a bout of pleural effusion. My first bout of pleural effusion hit over a weekend, of course so I dealt with a frightening mystery a few days. No pain this potent can be a minor problem therefore, panic. If you don't own a home pulse-Ox meter, buy one now and monitor your oxygen concentration. On these weekend or night time emergencies, a home set of thermometer, BP cuff and pulse-Ox finger monitor can help determine the extent of an emergency. I have a few added goodies but the "vitals" of heart, oxygenation, temperature immediately measures if you are sick.