I need health insurance...

caccomando

Hello

I am 22 yrs and was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis at birth. I am fortunate to have a mild case and have been relatively healthy my entire life, with a few hiccups here and there.

I am now a college graduate and looking to start my career. However, since I can no longer be on my father's insurance plan because I am not a full-time student, I am without health insurance until I find a full-time job with employee benefits.

I am scared everyday that I wake up without health insurance, especially because this is the time of year that I generally get the most sick, due to allergies and CF.

Is anyone in the same situation? If so, do you have any tips/advice on where to look for health insurance coverage for people with CF to cover CF check-ups, antibiotics, etc. I have been declined by every carrier I have contacted so far. I am fortunate, however, to be receiving my Tobi, Pulmozyme, and Pancreas free of charge thanks to the CF Foundation.

I would appreciate any help on this matter.

Thank you.

Christin

Gnub

I am in the same boat as you are. After I graduated I was no longer on my dad's insurance. I'm still looking for a job that offers full benefits (which is getting harder since employers are beginning to drop coverage because of its expense). Insurers are just looking to fill their pockets, which is why they deny coverage, even if you are healthy (bitter irony considering there are people out there without CF or any pre-existing condition, yet are sicker than we are and get full coverage).