NYTimes cover story today, dying with teens

Melissa75

Administrator
NYTimes: Teenagers Face Early Death, on Their Terms
http://nyti.ms/1FXHRd6

This article is about teens facing the end of their lives. It's upsetting and maybe not for everyone to read, but I think worth sharing.

The article talks about how kids aren't legally part of decision making regarding their dying, but finding out what they want can be very important to them.

Ok that was actually a very positive story. I'm going to order the guide the story discusses and save it for the day when this may be needed. Thank you for sharing!

Melissa75

Administrator
You're welcome. I think it was the cover story because it's thought provoking for anyone, and those teens are such beautiful human beings.

W

windex125

I thought that was amazing... I loved it. I've been making a similar letter for 20+ years now to my husband, I am always thankful to update it every year. I just said to him today that I put the last one I wrote in the shredder, he said please write another. I will this week. I do think it is so many decisions for one person to make or parents, having this in writing from that loving person you may lose is a great guide for them. Pat-60

I'll try this again! I could have done without this story. We already have to deal with this in our face and I could have done without this story. I feel for these young people and they did not deserve this. I don't like to see this in our face when everyone on here struggles to live.

jaimers

Super Moderator
Thanks for sharing this Melissa. No one relishes in thinking about their death but what a gift, when faced with such a hard reality, to be able to tell your family exactly what you want and need to feel more at peace.

Aboveallislove

Super Moderator