playing woodwind instrument

Mom2girls

Hi. My undiagnosed daughter is starting to play the clarinet. She is having a very hard time making full, long sounds. She practically shakes as she tries to make sounds. I don't remember it being that hard to make sounds when I started playing it many years ago. She can only hold a note for a couple of seconds. She coughs a little while practicing too. So far, practice sessions only last 5 min or so b/c it's all new to her and getting used to it slowly. Think this is a normal challenge for all kids new to playing a wind instrument or think she's struggling b/c of lung function or something?

kenna2

I played clarinet and bass clarinet and when I first started it was a bit difficult but it got easier as I went. My mom and younger sister played clarinet, they both don't have CF, and it was a challenge for them to learn too. It's more getting used to the reed and using all that extra air that makes it challenging at first. Learning high notes will be a challenge too (because it requires more air)and get ready for lots of squeaks coming for awhile. As a beginner she should be using a size 1 reed. If not get her one. It will make all the difference. Playing clarinet is a great form of airway clearance too. So it's going to be an adjustment but it will get things out. I noticed the difference once I graduated high school and stopped playing regularly. It's a great way to keep healthy and she'll enjoy playing it that she won't think about it as an extra treatment. Good luck!

LittleLab4CF

Super Moderator
Momto2girls,