Please help! Possibe CF? Sweat test needed after rectal prolapse in 2 1/2 year old

D

Drai5

Hello,

This is my very first time posting here. I never thought I would find myself posing questions in regard to CF and my children, as I thought any fear of CF would have been completely put to rest by my prenatal testing and newborn screening. Apparently, as I am learning, this is not always the case.

I just got back a little while ago from an over night stay at a children's hospital following my daughter's first experience with rectal prolapse.

After speaking with the gastroenterologist at the end of her 24 hour observation period, I learned that it is protocol to send children her age with rectal prolapse for a sweat test for CF. He sort of brushed it off, and I brushed it off as well. Then, of course, I came home and googled it.

I am currently quite terrified, because it seems she may have some symptoms of CF, and I am in desperate need of input. Here is a little background, please tell me what you think:

-She is 2 years and 7 months old. She tested negative for CF during new born screening, and I also tested negative for whatever gene mutations are tested for during early pregnancy- in each of my three pregnancies. She is my middle child, I also have two sons ages almost 4 years old and 10 months old.
-She has had severe constipation with abdominal pain for 9+ months. Her stool is often the size of a baseball and hard as a rock. Other times it is very soft, but no less painful for her to pass.
-She only had one rectal prolapse, which took place yesterday afternoon following an enema.
-Since birth, she has had very foul smelling stool. She can clear a room. It is much more smelly than my other two children.
-She has always had a decent appetite, but has never really put on much weight. She has been consistently in the 5-10th percentile for weight since birth. She didn't catch up to the 25th percentile until her 2 year well child visit. She is very petite.