Private long-term disability interview

erock77

I enrolled in my companies long term disability program about a year ago. After a certain period they send someone in person to evaluate my condition and whether I can work any job full time. I'm an engineer working part time now. I'm pretty nervous about this interview as I thought I'd be smooth sailing the rest of my life on this private LTD benefit.

The interview is in an hour, it's late notice. But has anyone gone through this? have tips?

W

welshwitch

Oops, you already did your interview. How did it go?

erock77

Thanks witch. I did get ahold of my social worker before the visit which helped me get a little perspective on what to expect. I was a little late in requesting advice, the thought of seeking advice didn't occur to me till the morning of the interview.
Thanks for the hotline info, I forgot we had one of those.
I think it went well. It's a tricky situation b/c obviously I "can" work full time, but the cumulative affect of going back to full time would make my health worse. Luckily the assessor seemed to really know his stuff w/ CF. That was my social worker's main concern, since I may look fine and they won't understand it's a progressive thing. He admitted late in interview he's been counting my coughs, severity, along with nailbeds, respiration, etc. Put me a little on edge, but glad I let the coughing fits fly in his presence, (and that I skipped my HTS & vest that morning for that purpose *shhh*). He had the impression the hardships of CF hit me late and I hadn't even fully seen it. I explained as a kid I was hospitalized 3-5x per year and had a lobectomy at 11 (1988), so I don't have a mild case.