Sinus rinses?

rubyroselee

Hi,

Ever since moving back to my hometown/state, allergies and sinus issues just showed up in my life and took over! I have tried Claritin and Zyrtec since the spring months, but nothing seems to really get rid of my post-nasal drip and throat irritation. It almost feels like a sinus infection, but I went to my clinic appointment a couple weeks ago and my doctor said it's just allergies and sinus drainage. Sooo, he told me to start using the NeilMed Sinus Rinse over-the-counter stuff.

I have never done sinus rinses before and I have no idea if I'm doing it right. Firstly, the instructions say the water should exit out the opposite nostril, but that doesn't happen for me - just comes right back out the same one. So that makes me think I'm doing it wrong. Then, it is very irritating to squeeze that water up there. It feels like I just went under water at the lake and didn't plug my nose and got water all the way up into my head - so it's not comfortable at all. Then on top of it all, I was apparently snoring the loudest and most terrible sounds last night, and I think it had something to do with the sinus rinse.

So, firstly, does it sound like I'm doing it right?

Secondly, how often do CFers do these rinses? Once a day? Twice a day?

And quite honestly, I felt a little better for a short time afterwards (nose was clearer, didn't feel the drainage), but it didn't last long at all.

What is the point of the rinses anyways?

I'm nervous to do it again until I hear about others' experiences.

THANKS!

G

Gorf