Feeding Tubes

Jacen M

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on this forum so I suppose I'll introduce myself a little bit first. I'm a 17 year old male, and I have been dealing with CF since I was about 6 months old. I was also diagnosed with CF related diabetes at the age of 15. I have a G-Tube that I frequently use for over night feedings for nutritional supplement.

My question is a bit of an odd one, and I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right section about it, but here goes.

I have a boyfriend that I only know through the internet, so naturally it's a sort of long distance relationship. We've known each other for quite some time now, and we've long been ready to meet up in person. We're hoping that some time this year we'll be able to actually go through with this and spend some time together at my house.

So getting to my question, as most of you have probably assumed I have to use my G-Tube nearly every night to help with keeping my weight up. When my boyfriend comes to visit, we plan to sleep in the same bed together and I'm worried about how I will go about doing my tube feeds. We're thinking that maybe I can do them every other night, but that still isn't exactly enough, it would be about 3-4 days out of a week when I should be doing 7 nights a week. The reason I'm worried is because I don't want to be in the same bed together and have him accidentally unplug the cord or knock it out. Another reason is the feedings will typically make me gassy, nauseous, bloated, and a little pukey. I don't want to be waking up with me feeling like I need to puke, it'd be embarrassing.

He's all very understanding about this, but I'm just a little unsure about what to do. On one hand, I need my nutrition, on the other I want us to be able to sleep together.

So, this question is mostly aimed at anyone in a relationship and/or married that has to use a feeding tube over night. How do you work this out with your significant other? I'd like to hear your advice.