just a question ( ur opinion)

ihatecf

Hey, if you are in end stage cystic fibrosis fev<25% and you are in college, would u bother yourself with the effort to get your degree or just leave things and call it a day..? I'm in a big dilemma because I lack all the motivation to get something that would be of no use. I dont know how much time I have left but I know its short enough...your thoughts...thx

anonymous

well that depends on what you enjoy doing.

if you enjoy working towards your degree and it's something that you want to achieve in your life then stick with it and try the best you can.

however, if you feel like there are more important things that you would like to do then do those instead.

sorry if that wasn't very helpful, but ultimately, it's your life and your decision. no-one else can tell you what to do but yourself.

supermanfan

I would never say it would be a waste. Are you on the transplant list? I was in college when I has my transplant, and after I got my degree... Going to school while on oxygen was completely worth it... besides it game me something to hold onto, besides my husband and family

anonymous

Thats exactly my situation. My lung functions are around 30, and I've just started a 4year degree. Im being advised to go on the list for a transplant, which means Id have to wait over 4 years to get one in order for it not to affect my going to college.

Shamrock, x

supermanfan

Don't think that way. You can always go to the college's disabled persons office... let them know your situation. Get on the transplant list, if you get called for transplant in the middle of a semester you can take an incomplete for medical reasons, and later go back and finish the classes...

I would never discourage anyone from learning. After all knowledge, I believe, is all we take with us. You never know what life brings and just because your lung functions are where they are doesn't mean they can't remain that way for some time to come.

Emilee

Mockingbird