Question to all

ron72180

Hello,
I am a college student in Westchester, NY. I am taking a health studies course and my project is on CF. Now I have found a great deal of information regarding the illness throgh the site already, but I may need some more, somewhat personal information. For one I actually have a cousin who is 3 years old and has the illness. I was able to get a great deal of info from my family regarding his case, but Im sure everyone else's case is different. Some of the questions I have are:
~What are some of the treatments that you or the person in your life with CF currently taking
~What are some of the things that you and your families have had to plan for in the future. Like what practical tasks do you now think about
~Also, in your areas, are there any community services or anything of that nature that are available to you to help

If this seems odd to some then I am sorry, but I am very serious. As stated I have interviewed a family member with it, but I know different people have different situations. Any help would be truly great. Thank you so much for your time and co-operation.

Ron

anonymous

Hi Ron, I am a 16 year old male with Cystic Fibrosis. I live about 30 minutes east of Seattle, WA.

1) For treatments i am currently on, Ultrase MT-20's (enzymes to help digest my food), Multivitamin, Advair (inhaler thing, 1 puff twice a day), Right now im on Cipro the antibiotic cause im sick cause its cold season but normally i am on zithromax year round, that sometimes changes but always an oral antibiotic, I do Chest PT (clapping) every night, i sometimes do the Vest also, I do DNASE everynight also (nebulizer).
2) As for planning the main thing is making sure i will be able to continue doing all my normal treatments in college (im a junior in HS) that will be a big change as i wont be able to do the Chest PT anymore and will have to do just the vest and just planning on sending me out on my own in a couple years.