Anyone had to wean themselves off of Orkambi?

cmorgan

:mad::mad::mad::mad:A person at Vertex in the GPS program just royally dropped the ball with some financial stuff and I will be running out of Orkambi in 2 weeks time. Do any of you have any experience with or have themselves had to wean off of Orkambi and if so, how did you do it? Is it a necessary/preferred thing to do or can I just stop cold turkey? Gradual reduction in dosage? Thanks.

stephen

Super Moderator
comorgan,

I’m not a doctor and I don’t have any experience with Orkambi, but I was forced to suddenly stop taking Kalydeco.

This past year I had to suddenly stop taking it for five days following emergency surgery. I had been taking it for over three years, and it was a life changer.

After being off it for two days, my mucus became very thick and quite difficult to cough up, as it had been before I began taking Kalydeco in 2014. After about five days, my CFdoctors were able to have me resume taking it with Ensure and within two days my mucus became thin again.

Six months later I needed a second surgery. This time, while I didn’t miss any doses of Kalydeco, I had to take it with only water for about five days. I got the impression that by taking it without any fat, the Kalydeco had almost no affect. Again my mucus got very thick and my cough returned.After being able to resume takingit again with some fat for about two days (Ensure again) the Kalydeco began obviously working.

As an aside, when I began taking in 2014 Kalydeco off-label, I was concerned that at some point my insurance provider might deny coverage. To build up some back log, I tried skipping occasional doses. My experiences indicated that missing a dose or two had no no ticeable affect. In fact I’m convinced that for me, Kalydeco might be just as effective if I took doses 18, or even 24 hours apart.