Coughed up tissue?

I spoke with the RN who says it is probably sputum. However I am a nurse too and it doesn't look like it to me. They said just keep an eye on it to see if there are any changes. Maybe I am just worrying too much.

G

gunelle

How did it look like if you don't mind me asking? I coughed up something weird a while back and still not sure what it was. It was hard, dark brown, and large as a pebble and foul tasting.

That was probably some old sputum with blood mixed in. The nurse at the cf clinic was saying that the sputum can be so dry the are hard as pebbles.
Mine was pink and soft like your skin tissue, kind of oval with a pointy sort of edge and when I squeezed it it just moved though my fingers I guess. I could not squeeze it flat. It kept the same shape, nothing squeezed put of the shape.

LittleLab4CF

Super Moderator
I assume you aren't describing a hemoptysis. As an adult, most of my CF issues have been GI. Even still, I don't catch colds, if something nails my lungs it is serious. About a year ago I was fighting a non specific lung infection when I hocked up a marble sized blood clot. It happened at a moment when I sneezed, coughed and maybe belched at once. I figured the last place it would have come from was my lungs so I went about an ENT and GI check waiting to see my CF pulmonologist.

Although it was essentially over and done with by the time I saw the doctor who knew from whence my clots came, I had a collection of individual clots, kept separate, cold and annotated as about the only remaining evidence of pleural effusion. Having been through the usual sinus surgeries and the indignitiy of canker mouth, I know bloody sputem from other tissue types. Not to mention I keep a little of my lung in a jar so I sort of know what the alveoli tissue would be like. As a Nurse, my guess is you know exactly what you have in your hand.