Exercises to correct that CF-related slouch?

CyrilCrodius

Exercises to correct that CF-related slouch? My shoulders are rotated frontward, I have a typical CF-related kyphosis. I started training the muscles in my upper back in the hopes that it will improve my condition, but I don't really have any idea whether what I'm doing is really going to help. I want to ask my CF team on my next appointment, but in the mean time, do you know of anything?

R

Red9928

Be sure to strengthen your core abdominal muscles by doing crunches, etc. Also consider asking for a Physical Therapy referral to help you get an appropriate exercise routine started.

triples15

Super Moderator
Excellent question Cyril! I have the slouch AWFUL. I try to concentrate on sitting up straight, but that lasts all of 30 seconds until I forget and I'm once again hunched over. I have considered buying one of those bra-like contraption things that make you stand straight, however I read that those only work while you have them on and do nothing to actually improve your condition. I guess I thought they somehow "trained" you to stand up straight. ;)

Years ago the respiratory therapist at my clinic gave me a pamphlet on exercises to help the cf slouch. I can't for the life of me find it now. I need to ask her if she still has them. The one exercise I can remember involved standing with your back to a wall and bringing your shoulders back until your shoulder blades were against the wall. I can't remember how long to hold it and how many reps, but I'm sure it couldn't hurt to try. I've started trying it again.

I'll let you know if I come across the pamphlet or any of the specific exercises she showed me!

Hopefully others have some good insight!

Take care,

Autumn 32 w/CF

robbiekay