Help! Sterilizing

LookingforPeace

Hi everyone,

I was told that I can boil the... Geeze I don't even know the terminology. I was told that I can boil my nebulizer (The thing I put my pulmozyme in) for 10 minutes "at a rolling boil". I swear I've completely deformed it. The lid doesn't close all the way.

I noticed this so I started using soap and water and figured I'd sterilize via boiling a couple times a week.

But today, while inhaling, I tasted the soap! So it's back to boiling. I'm considering purchasing a baby bottle sterilizer.

How do you all sterilize your equipment? I also have an acapella that I need to sterilize (been advised not to boil it as it will melt),

Help! (PS I am new to this, clearly)

briarrose

We wash everything I'm hot soapy water and put it in the baby bottle sterilizer with distilled water. We use the event 6 bottle sterilizer but our rt said any of them is fine as long as it is not one that goes through the microwave. We used to boil but the baby bottle sterilizer really changed everything and makes it so much easier and more manageable.

Jana

I've read that also and believe it's because a microwave doesn't necessarily heat evenly--you know how microwaved food tends to have cold and hot spots. Killing bacteria requires a temperature held at the required level uninterrupted for a certain period of time. I've also heard the microwave ones sometimes melt nebulizers because of the uneven heating.

Personally, I use an Avent baby bottle sterilizer (the electric kind) with distilled water. It works great, takes 6 minutes, and has removed a lot of complication from my treatments!

Jane

Digital opinion leader
I've often heard using a dishwasher too Bill, but I never quite trust there won't be food particles left behind. Is there a mesh container or something you use?

bananagirl