PICC line problems

busyscmom

My daughter (age 11) has her first PICC line. It went well for 10 days, but then it got clogged. A home nurse drew blood through it and didn't flush it. It was unclogged at the hospital and she had three more antibiotic treatments and I was very careful to flush it before and after each time. But now it's clogged again. Anybody else had problems like this? Is this normal or am I doing something wrong? I have a Masters Degree in Biology so it's not like I'm not a detailed oriented person, but have zero clinical experience in PICC lines. I'm curious to hear other peoples' experiences with them. Thanks.Also, what do parents do that have to work during IV antibiotics? We're having five treatments a day (3 of Cephapime and 2 of Tobramycin) and there is no way I could work and do this. I'm interested to hear of other people's experiences.

anonymous

I've had a few PICC lines. All went well. As far as I know, there are a couple different lines. One PICC line can be done in a room by a specialized nurse and this one DOES NOT need flushed with heparine. The other PICC line that I know of is inserted in radiology. This is a much better PICC line and DOES need flushed with heparine. I am very careful to flush with saline and the heparine after each dose. When I do home IV's, I usually do them for 10-14 days, and the lines do very well for me. Home IV's are the way to go, if you can manage all the times for the meds. Avoid the hospital at all costs. You don't want to leave the hospital with anything you didn't go in there with.

busyscmom

This PICC line was inserted by a radiologist under light anesthesia. We have been flushing with saline and heparain before and after each use. A nurse drew blood out of if two days ago and didn't flush it. It got clogged and we had it unclogged at the hospital. But it got clogged again the very next day (today). This is making me crazy and wondering if I'm doing something wrong.

NoDayButToday